“Bridge Rd. over the River Alde” (Snape Maltings, Suffolk), 10 x 20 inches

Lilies aren't the only thing I paint...surprise!  I know it seems that I am obsessed with lilies and fruit, maybe I am at the moment.  But I secretly love painting landscapes.  When the temperature rises and the weather clears a bit I plan to attempt some plein air painting.    Painting outdoors was something I did not like when I was in school.  I guess it's about control.  In the studio I can everything just so and it almost always goes the way I planned it.  But painting out in the elements is a different beast.  It will be interesting to see how vibrant my colors get while painting outdoors.  Well, I couldn't wait so I used some reference photos of my favourite place-Snape Maltings, Suffolk.
Lilies aren’t the only thing I paint…surprise! I know it seems that I am obsessed with lilies and fruit, maybe I am at the moment. But I secretly love painting landscapes. When the temperature rises and the weather clears a bit I plan to attempt some plein air painting.                                                                                                          Painting outdoors was something I did not like when I was in school. I guess it’s about control. In the studio I can have everything just so and it almost always goes the way I planned it. But painting out in the elements is a different beast. It will be interesting to see how vibrant my colors get while painting outdoors. Well, I couldn’t wait so I used some reference photos of my favourite place-Snape Maltings, Suffolk.

 

 

After loosely sketching in the composition I went straight into using the palette knife.  I was pretending I was outside in the winter air and had only a few hours before the light changed.  I gave myself a two hour time limit (which I totally went over) and went for it.
After loosely sketching in the composition I went straight into using the palette knife. I was pretending I was outside in the winter air and had only a few hours before the light changed. I gave myself a two hour time limit (which I totally went over) and went for it.
The finished product!
The finished product!
(detail)
(detail)
(river detail)
(river detail)
(bridge detail)
(bridge detail)
Leave a Reply

