Portrait of my husband, 24 x 18 inches

I am not very confident when it comes to portraits so I don't do them very often.  Back in school I painted numerous figure and portrait painting and got quiet good at it.  I am a tad rusty these days but I'm always up for a challenge.  This is my second drawing, I had erase the first one, it was embarrassing.  Even my husband said try again.  He was nice enough to pose for me for 3hrs.
I am not very confident when it comes to portraits so I don’t do them very often. Back in school I painted numerous figure and portrait paintings and got quiet good at it. I am a tad rusty these days but I’m always up for a challenge. This is my second drawing, I had to erase the first one, it was embarrassing. Even my husband said try again. He was nice enough to pose for me for 3hrs.
The head and neck are done at this point and my hubby headed to bed, leaving his shirt on the back of the chair and the flowers leaning against it so I could continue on.
The head and neck are done at this point and my hubby headed to bed, leaving his shirt on the back of the chair and the flowers leaning against it so I could continue on.
It about seven hours from  start to finish.  I wanted to finish in one sitting to avoid overworking it.  I still think I could have make large gestures with my brush to keep things loose.  I may have him sit again for a smaller portrait, focusing more on the face.  I will say I am pleasantly surprised at how this turned out.
It took about seven hours from start to finish.  I wanted to finish in one sitting to avoid overworking it. I still think I could have made larger gestures with my brush to keep things loose. I may have him sit again for a smaller portrait, focusing more on the face. I will say I am pleasantly surprised at how this turned out.  Sorry about the glare on the photo, I will post another pic soon.
eye detail
eye detail
mouth detail
mouth detail
6 Comments

  1. What a pleasure to see the evolution of this satisfying portrait. I love its gentle power and the deep pleasurable impact of the colour along with the feeling of the integrity of the sitter. Altogether a new triumph!

Leave a Reply

