“Magenta Lilies with Golden Plums” 40 x 40 inches on board

Depending on the season and mood I tend to match my color palettes accordingly.  In November and December I wanted to use rich tones that invoked a feeling of fall turning into winter.  My last few paintings used lots of reds, oranges, gold paint and fall fruits.  It's a new year now and I wanted to use a new color palette, so I broke out my magenta paints.  I wanted the colors to really stand out and be bold so I chose warm grey fabric to tie it all together.  There are even little birdies!
Depending on the season and mood I tend to match my color palettes accordingly. In November and December I wanted to use rich tones that evoke the feeling of fall turning into winter. My last few paintings used lots of reds, oranges, gold paint and fall fruits. It’s a new year now and I wanted to use a new color palette, so I broke out my magenta paints. I wanted the magenta, yellow and yellow green colors to really stand out and be bold so I chose warm grey fabric to tie it all together. There are even little birdies!
detail of golden plums and bowl
detail of golden plums and bowl
detail of a lil' birdie
detail of a lil’ birdie
lily detail
lily detail
detail of pomegranate half
detail of pomegranate half
4 Comments

  1. What a joy! It was so good to read your account of the seasonal colour change and to be able to share the details of the brush strokes as well as being able to share the finished piece which is such a delight for the new year. Thankyou for so much pleasure.

  2. Really like it! I’ve got a question, if you feel ok to answer- how much of the painting is done with a brush and how much with a knife? i’ve looked at a lot of your work on the internet but its hard to tell. This latest seems to be a lot of brush.

    1. Good question. On this painting I did about 50/50. The background and foreground are done with a brush, everything else is palette knife with a little brushwork for the stems and other details. On most large paintings I use about 70% palette knife and 30% brush. Size 24 x 24 inches and smaller it is usually all palette knife.

      -Halima

Leave a Reply

