Paintings of Abundance: Oil and Acrylic

I have recently finished two paintings – one in acrylic and one in oils – of more involved floral still lifes.  I have really been inspired by the British love of patterned wallpaper, cloth and home decor.  I also have enjoyed the accessibility to lush produce and a variety of flowers.  I have combined these elements into two well thought-out paintings.

I chose to paint one in acrylic to explore the difference it would make to my painting process and to take advantage of the drying time, so I could play with patterns.  I really enjoyed painting these and I look forward using other color palettes in both mediums.

"Treats of Summer" 24 x 24 inches, oil on board

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

"Antique Hydrangeas and Stripes" 24 x 32 inches, acrylic on board

 

Leave a Reply

