What I am working on: 3ft square-Autumn Still Life

A work n progress, 36 x 36 inches, oil on canvas-20hrs in.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I took on a huge challenge this weekend.  Though I am known for my small works, I am breaking out and going larger.  It is interesting and a bit frustrating to see if your particular style translates well to other sizes.  Staring at this huge blank canvas was exciting, but when I started to sketch it in a feeling of panic set in.  What have I gotten myself into? The amount of paint, time, glasses of wine, hours on my feet…Aaaaaahhhhh!

I stared at my sketch for about an hour.  Mentally mapping out my plan of attack.  Then it all fell into place, sketch and block in color the first day, get the darks and background in on the second, start the detail work on the third and keep going until I finish.  It may seem like second nature to some artists but when you are used to slinging paint and finishing in under 4 hours, my three day paint-a-thon feels like forever!

Above is where I decided to stop tonight after about 3 days / 20hrs of painting.  I will rest up, relax and continue tomorrow.

2 Comments

  1. Halima, you are amazing. I cannot believe you managed to make a work of art of such caliber in only 3 days. Brilliant woman! Keep up the genius work! I hope to see a self-portrait or two coming soon. Lots of love xoxo Sezin

Leave a Reply

